For Immediate Release
April 27, 2016

Securities Regulators in New Brunswick, Nova Scotia and Saskatchewan sign cooperation agreement with the U.S. Commodity Futures Trading Commission

The New Brunswick Financial and Consumer Services Commission (FCNB), the Nova Scotia Securities Commission (NSSC) and the Financial and Consumer Affairs Authority of Saskatchewan (FCAA) announced today that they have each signed separate Counterparts to a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) with the U.S. Commodity Futures Trading Commission (CFTC) to Enhance Supervision of Cross-Border Regulated Entities.

The MOU will provide for the cooperation and the exchange of information in the supervision and oversight of regulated entities that operate on a cross-border basis in the United States and in certain Canadian provinces.

Through the memorandum, the FCNB, NSSC and FCAA join five other Canadian jurisdictions that have expressed their willingness to co-operate with the CFTC to fulfil their regulatory mandates.

The MOU was initially signed on March 25, 2014 between the CFTC and the Ontario Securities Commission, the Autorité des marchés financiers, the British Columbia Securities Commission and the Alberta Securities Commission. The Manitoba Securities Commission subsequently signed a Counterpart to the MOU on October 21, 2014.

The CSA, the council of the securities regulators of Canada’s provinces and territories, co-ordinates and harmonizes regulation for the Canadian capital markets.

For more information:

Andrew Nicholson
Financial and Consumer Services
Commission, New Brunswick

Tanya Wiltshire
Nova Scotia Securities Commission

Shannon McMillian
Financial and Consumer Affairs
Authority of Saskatchewan