For Immediate Release
April 23, 2007

CSA renews terms of Chair and Vice-Chair

Montréal – At the latest meeting of the members of the Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA), held in Toronto on March 28 and 29, 2007, the term of CSA Chair Jean St-Gelais, President and CEO of the Autorité des marchés financiers (AMF), was renewed for two years. Mr. St-Gelais was appointed CSA Chair in April 2005.

“I am delighted to be able to assume this role for another two years and look forward to further co-operation with my colleagues from other jurisdictions to further harmonize and improve the regulation of capital markets,” said Mr. St-Gelais.

The term of CSA Vice-Chair Don Murray, Chair of the Manitoba Securities Commission, was also renewed for two years. “We will continue to apply the CSA’s strategic principles and pursue our efforts toward the implementation of a more harmonized and streamlined securities regime in Canada,” noted Mr. Murray.

The CSA, the council of securities regulators of Canada’s provinces and territories, coordinate and harmonize regulation for the Canadian capital markets. Their mandate is to protect investors from unfair or fraudulent practices through regulation of the securities industry. Part of this protection is educating investors about the risk, responsibilities and rewards of investing.


Frédéric Alberro
Autorité des marchés financiers

Jane Gillies
New Brunswick Securities Commission

Carolyn Shaw-Rimmington
Ontario Securities Commission

Ainsley Cunningham
Manitoba Securities Commission
Andrew Poon
British Columbia Securities Commission
Nicholas A. Pittas
Nova Scotia Securities Commission
Tamera Van Brunt
Alberta Securities Commission
Barbara Shourounis
Saskatchewan Financial Services Commission
Marc Gallant
Office of the Attorney General
Prince Edward Island
Doug Connolly
Financial Services Regulation
Division Newfoundland and Labrador
Donald MacDougall
Securities Registry
Northwest Territories
Jennifer MacIsaac
Nunavut Securities Registry
Bette Boyd
Yukon Securities Registry