For Immediate Release
September 5, 2008

Canadian Regulators to Host XBRL Panel Discussion

Toronto – On September 24, 2008, representatives from the Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA) will hold a free information session for industry participants and members of the media on the increasing use and importance of XBRL (eXtensible Business Reporting Language). 

The information session will feature expert speakers from the CSA and the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) who will discuss recent proposals by the SEC for the mandatory use of XBRL, as well as the move to XBRL in Canada.

“As a business reporting language, XBRL will make it easier for investors and analysts to analyze financial information from a large number of different companies,” said James Turner, Vice-Chair, Ontario Securities Commission. “The CSA is supportive of XBRL and is hosting this event to help the Canadian marketplace gain a greater understanding of this exciting technology.” 


  • James Turner, Vice-Chair, Ontario Securities Commission
  • David Blaszkowsky, Director, Office of Interactive Disclosure, SEC
  • Peter Grant, Chief Information Officer, British Columbia Securities Commission
  • Cameron McInnis, Chief Accountant (Acting), Ontario Securities Commission

Event Information:

  • Wednesday, September 24, 2008 from 1:30 p.m. to 3:30 p.m. at the
    Metro Toronto Convention Centre, South Building (222 Bremner Blvd) Room 714

There is no charge to attend this event. For registration, please go to, or call Joanne Platsis at the Ontario Securities Commission at 416-593-8222.

Those unable to attend are invited to listen or view the event live from the CSA website.

For media inquiries:

Laurie Gillett
Ontario Securities Commission
Barbara Shourounis
Saskatchewan Financial Services Commission
Christian Barrette
Autorité des marchés financiers
Andrew Poon
British Columbia Securities Commission
Natalie MacLellan
Nova Scotia Securities Commission
Mark Dickey
Alberta Securities Commission
Ainsley Cunningham
Manitoba Securities Commission
Wendy Connors-Beckett
New Brunswick Securities Commission
Marc Gallant
Prince Edward Island
Office of the Attorney General
Doug Connolly
Financial Services Regulation Division
Newfoundland and Labrador
Louis Arki
Nunavut Securities Registry
Donn MacDougall
Securities Registry
Northwest Territories
Fred Pretorius
Yukon Securities Office