Project Oversight and Implementation

The CSA is leading the process of creating a new self-regulatory organization and a new investor protection fund on several fronts simultaneously, and has assembled focused working groups to handle different aspects of the project. This includes:

  • An Executive Working Group, chaired by Stan Magidson, Chair and CEO of the Alberta Securities Commission. This group is leading the effort to create the new self-regulatory organization (SRO) and investor protection fund (IPF).
  • An Integrated Working Committee that is determining the appropriate corporate structure of the new SRO, overseeing incorporation of a new governance structure and integrating the current functions of the existing SROs and separately, the two existing investor protection funds.
  • A Special Joint Committee comprised of representatives of IIROC, the MFDA and the CSA to oversee recruitment and recommend board members and a chief executive officer of the new SRO. The committee members are:
  • AnneMarie Ryan (chair and independent member)
  • Paul Allison
  • Patricia Callon
  • Luc Fortin
  • Linda Hohol
  • Jennifer Newman
  • Christopher C. Nicholls