Canadian securities regulators release report on 2013-2016 achievements

The Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA) today released a report on the work achieved under its three-year Business Plan for the period of April 1, 2013 through June 30, 2016.

The report outlines the accomplishments of CSA Members during this period in the areas of:

  • retail investor protection,
  • capital raising by small and medium sized enterprises and exempt market initiatives,
  • shareholder democracy and protection,
  • market regulation,
  • enforcement effectiveness, and
  • information technology.

“In June 2013, CSA Members embarked on an ambitious three-year plan encompassing deliverables in all areas fundamental to our mission, with a particular emphasis on investor protection initiatives,” said Louis Morisset, Chair of the CSA and Chair and CEO of the Autorité des marchés financiers. “While future deliverables will be highlighted in our upcoming Business Plan for 2016-2019, it is important to acknowledge the impressive body of work completed by the CSA Members’ staff working collectively over the past three years.”

The CSA Report on Achievements for 2013-2016 is available on the websites of the CSA and its various members.

The CSA is the council of the securities regulators of Canada’s provinces and territories, which co‑ordinates and harmonizes regulation for the Canadian capital markets.

For more information:

Alison Walker
British Columbia Securities Commission

Kristen Rose
Ontario Securities Commission

Mark Dickey
Alberta Securities Commission

Sylvain Théberge
Autorité des marchés financiers

Jason (Jay) Booth
Manitoba Securities Commission

Andrew Nicholson
Financial and Consumer Services
Commission, New Brunswick

Tanya Wiltshire
Nova Scotia Securities Commission

Janice Callbeck
Office of the Superintendent
of Securities, P.E.I.

John O’Brien
Office of the Superintendent
of Securities
Newfoundland and Labrador

Rhonda Horte
Office of the Yukon Superintendent
of Securities

Jeff Mason
Nunavut Securities Office

Tom Hall
Office of the Superintendent of
Securities, Northwest Territories

Shannon McMillan
Financial and Consumer Affairs
Authority of Saskatchewan