CSA seeks comment on proposals for derivatives market registration and regulation

Vancouver – The Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA) today published for comment Consultation Paper 91-407 – Derivatives: Registration, which sets out the CSA’s recommendations on registration and regulation of market participants trading in derivatives.

This paper details recommendations on issues such as:

  • the activities that will trigger derivatives registration;
  • the categories of derivatives registrants; and
  • the obligations of the derivatives registrants. 

“The G-20 has called for improvements to the over-the-counter derivatives markets that improve transparency, mitigate systemic risk, and protect against market abuse,” said Bill Rice, Chair of the CSA and Chair and CEO of the Alberta Securities Commission. “Responding to the G-20, the CSA has developed key recommendations on the regulation of key participants in Canada’s derivatives markets that will allow Canada to comply with international standards.”

This consultation paper is part of a series of eight CSA papers developed to improve regulatory oversight of the OTC derivatives market in Canada. Market participants are invited to provide comments to this consultation paper by June 17, 2013. All responses received will be published on the Autorité des marchés financiers (www.lautorite.qc.ca) and the Ontario Securities Commission (www.osc.gov.on.ca) websites.

Copies of the consultation paper are available on the following websites: the Alberta Securities Commission, Autorité des marchés financiers, the British Columbia Securities Commission, the Manitoba Securities Commission, the New Brunswick Securities Commission, the Nova Scotia Securities Commission, the Ontario Securities Commission and the Financial and Consumer Affairs Authority of Saskatchewan.

The CSA, the council of the securities regulators of Canada’s provinces and territories, co-ordinates and harmonizes regulation for the Canadian capital markets. 

For more information: 

Lorinda Brinton
Alberta Securities Commission

Carolyn Shaw-Rimmington
Ontario Securities Commission

Sylvain Théberge
Autorité des marchés financiers

Richard Gilhooley
British Columbia Securities Commission

Ainsley Cunningham
Manitoba Securities Commission

Wendy Connors-Beckett
New Brunswick Securities Commission

Tanya Wiltshire
Nova Scotia Securities Commission

Daniela Machuca
Financial and Consumer Affairs Authority
of Saskatchewan

Janice Callbeck
The Office of the Superintendent of
Securities, P.E.I.

Doug Connolly
Financial Services Regulation Division
of Newfoundland and Labrador

Rhonda Horte
Office of the Yukon Superintendent of

Louis Arki
Nunavut Securities Office

Donn MacDougall
Northwest Territories Securities Office